Landscape architects and their squiggly lines….

I like landscape architects, really I do.  They draw cool trees and have the ability to make prismacolor markers and pencils work for them in a way that I don’t think is natural.  I envy their squiggly line bushes in plan, with cute little dots in the middle.  Everything I know about drawing shrubbery I learned from them.  I also deeply envy their ability to use the sandbox tool in Sketch-up, but I feel that I have the upper hand in the industry owing to my being paid a few pennies more and that I use Revit everyday and they still can’t make the technological jump.

I often feel bad for them, wasting away in AutoCAD land, making corrections to every sheet, every time they change something.  For those of you still using CAD on a daily basis, please let me extend my deepest sympathies…I don’t mean to be a jerk, but it really is a colossal waste of time.  Hold a yard sale or company bake sale, sell lemonade or your first born child and get you some Revit love.  It has an unbelievable learning curve that will have you begging for your beloved CAD tools, but then suddenly you have that technological and learning breakthrough and you become a bonafide Revit user.  And you will never go back.  I am not saying Revit replaces all the strong points of CAD, but its way better.  I am digressing.

Back to landscape architects.  There is one issue I feel I need to take with them universally: CAD exploded squiggly lines.  Guys, please help me out here.  I had to open your CAD drawing today to place an existing building that I was drafting on a site plan in Revit and my eyes almost exploded.  I know you deal with the organic on a regular basis.  I know your work has an ethereal sketchy quality that we all envy; but, walls are straight lines and rarely make those miniscule dog leg jogs that you love to imbed in your polylines.  Also, use polylines, use them please, and when making a rather long strand of one, please attempt to use a more continuous length and not a million little lines that make it appear that you are battling the first stages of Parkinson’s with your mouse.  And, PLEASE do not explode the lines!

Other than that, you have beautiful drawings.  Thank you for placing that septic tank on the site plan and being able to read civil drawings without a decoder ring.  And as always, thank you for your cool circle and dot trees!

    • Anonymous
    • October 22nd, 2012

    YOU SHOULD GET A CLUE AS TO WHAT LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS ACTUALLY DO

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

